Congratulations to many CCDU members for exceptional performances in intercollegiate debate events in 2021-22. This note recognizes select team awards; teams and individuals won many more awards in competition last year.

In BP format competitions, students were team award winners at the US National Debate Championship, hosted by Hobart and William Smith Colleges (octofinalist), Western States Debate Championship, hosted by the University of Denver, (first place, semifinalist), Novice National Debate Championship, hosted by Cornell University (quarterfinalist) Seattle University (second place, finalist, quarterfinalist), Linfield College (second place,  finalist, top novice team), Lewis and Clark College (first place), Vanderbilt University (first place, quarterfinalist, quarterfinalist), Duke University (second place), and the University of Utah (first place).

In Social Justice and related format tournaments, the team of Audrey Strevey and Grayson Shaw placed second at the SJD Winter Championship hosted by the University of Rochester and also placed second at the Lafayette Debate Championship, sponsored by George Washington University and the French Embassy to the United States.

Congratulations to members of the Debate Union for fellowship and scholarship awards. This list is woefully incomplete. Please send your information to

Amanda Kandasamy CMC ’20, Fulbright Scholar (Indonesia)

Luke Radice CMC ’19, Fulbright Scholar (Germany)

Luke Radice CMC ’19, JET Program (Japan Exchange and Teaching)

Jessica Kim CMC ’20, JET Program (Japan Exchange and Teaching)

Blake Plante PO ’19, Watson Fellow

Paloma Palmer CMC ’19, Boren Scholar with the National Security Education Program – Senegal

Pastor Arroyo CMC ’18, Fulbright Scholar (Panama)

Anoush Baghdassarian CMC ’17, Napier Award for Creative Leadership (Refugee/genocide victim narrative collection in Armenia)

Anoush Baghdassarian CMC ’17, Humanity in Action (Legacy of post-Holocaust human rights – Berlin)

Joshua Rooney CMC ’17, Boren Scholar with the National Security Education Program – Kazakhstan

Syed ‘Umar’ Farooq CMC ’17, Critical Language Scholarship, US State Department Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Jordan

Syed ‘Umar’ Farooq CMC ’17, 2016 Truman Scholar

Mariah Barber PO ’15, Fulbright Scholar (Brazil)

Nadeem Farooqi CMC ’15, Coro Fellowship in Public Affairs

Nicole Pilar PZ ’14, Fulbright Scholar (Bulgaria)

Takako Mino CMC ’11, Napier Award for Creative Leadership (Public Debate Program integration in 5 East African countries)

Holly Poole SCR ’09 and CMC MA ’11, Fulbright Scholar (Macau)

Jake Heller PZ ’07, 2006 Truman Scholar

Jesse Last PO ’07, 2006 Truman Scholar

Andrew Lee CMC ’07, 2006 Truman Scholar

Madeline Zavodny CMC ’92, 1990 Truman Scholar






Congratulations – Asante Africa/Accelerated Learning in the Classroom Program

Congratulations to the Asante Africa Foundation, a non-profit educational organization working with teachers and students in rural Tanzania and Kenya. The organization uses the Debate Union’s Public Debate Program to accelerate critical-thinking and problem-solving skills in the classroom. More than 45,000 students and hundreds of teachers have participated in programming.

In Summer 2022, the CCDU and Asante Africa Foundation have partnered again to bring debate, public speaking, and critical thinking skills to more than 30,000 teachers and students in rural Uganda.